1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I'm new to ABS

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by mywhitenoise, Mar 21, 2007.

1. mywhitenoise

mywhitenoise New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I was wondering if this was normal because of the Brake Assist, VSC, or ABS. The car brakes fine if i'm coasting at several hundred feet from the stop, and slightly press on the brake until it gradually hits 0. Now when I coast and i'm getting close to a stop sign, and the speed is down to about 7-3 mph, I brake a little harder (because i'm used to this) all of the sudden it's a very sharp stop that rocks back, and kind of makes a sharp noise. Is this normal with ABS? Seems like it brakes a little too hard and sharp for that speed.

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I don't think it has anything to do w/ABS. It sounds like you're experiencing the transition from regenerative braking to friction braking. There's usually a slight 'give' at 7mph as regen drops out. If you're applying brakes a bit more firmly you may feel the friction brakes catch a little.

If it's dramatic you can have it checked, but I suspect it's just a normal thing you're noticing b/c of your gentle braking.

3. SomervillePrius

SomervillePrius New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    What efucso said. It's a quirk of the regenerative breaking system. Regenerative breaking is a great feature where energy that would otherwise be lost to friction in normal break pads and are instead stored into your batteries.