1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I'm now putting 20w50 in my Prius. Arrrrh!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by uart, Oct 13, 2017.

1. uart

uart Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I've been using 5w30 in my Prius for the past 8 years or so, and over that time the oil consumption has slowly increased as it's now pretty high mileage (312,000 km).

Recently I changed from an ACEA A3/B4 rated 5w30 oil (castrol edge A3/B4) to a more fuel efficiency oriented GF5/Dexos1 oil (Penrite Enviro+ GF5 5w30). Suddenly with the new oil the rate of oil consumption nearly doubled, from about 250 mL per 2000 km up to about 450mL per 2000 km.

Although they are both 5w30, the new oil is a fair bit thinner and has lower HTHS viscosity. As far as I can tell that's the only thing that is causing it to use more. Anyway, I decided to start topping it off with 20w50 and see if that would slow it down. Right now I'm up to about 750 mL of this 20w50 top off for this oil change and it seems to be working, the oil consumption is definitely slowing down.

Unfortunately I bought a few 5L jugs of this thinner oil so I've still got a couple of them to use up. I'm seriously considering blending the stuff with my 20w50 (at about 1 part in 4) for my next few oil changes. :)

#1 uart, Oct 13, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
    SFO and m.wynn like this.
  2. fotomoto

fotomoto Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    In the USA market, we have oil blends specifically targeted at older, high mileage engines. Do you have those and/or tried those blends? Anyone here try them? Do they lower consumption?

3. uart

uart Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius