1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I'm too chicken to use the Parking assist feature. What about you?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by mudworm, Sep 14, 2018.

1. mudworm

mudworm Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    My new Prius (2018 Prius Two with Safety Plus Package) offers the Intelligent Parking Assist. I thought it was cool and excited about the feature, but I found myself too chicken to give it a try. I believe the feature only works well if you try to back into a spot or parallel park between two vehicles -- it needs the two vehicles to adjust spaces. I'm so afraid that it might scratch others' cars or my own.

BTW, I'm a very seasoned driver, so I really don't NEED any assist. I can park on my own just fine. But I thought the "new age" technology sounded very cool and was tempted to use it even just for the experience.

What about you? Do you use it and are you impressed?

DLC82SV and Smaug1 like this.
  2. GadgetVirtuoso

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Be cautious but you HAVE to give it a shot. I've used both just for fun and it is awesome and a little disconcerting at first. The backend parking really only works well if there are two cars but will work if there's just one. I found that it doesn't quite park right with only a single car.

DLC82SV, bisco and Smaug1 like this.
  3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    salesman tried to get me to use it to back into an angled parking space at the dealership during a test drive.
    it started backing in, and was headed for the car next to the space when i slammed the brakes and bailed out.:eek:

DLC82SV and Smaug1 like this.
  4. Smaug1

Smaug1 Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have the same package on my car, or I think I do!