1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Impressions three weeks in.......

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by bdonley, Jul 30, 2018.

1. bdonley

bdonley New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, I'm in after three weeks with the Prius now. Been a good test. Car's a 2007 with 114k on it. Bought from an independent local shop. Tested battery, etc. Warranty, 1 week return policy. Drove local for a week. I'm a drummer, it turned out to be a great gig vehicle. I could buy more drums! I can put my bikes inside, rather then having to roof rack them. The next week, off from the central Ca coast to Las Vegas for a conference. Hard drive. 112 degree temps, tons of traffic. A 2 hour traffic jam in 110 degree heat. Car never missed a beat. Quiet, cool, and comfortable. Ran 80+ mph for the last hour or so into Vegas. 47 mpg! Went the long way home. Up 7000 ft to Big Bear lake. 25 mph switchbacks up the mountain. With my wife driving! The next day, tried the B mode on the long downhill.Good to have engine braking on a 7000 ft decent. The quietness of the car lulled the wife into entering a 45 mph corner at 67! It handles pretty well for a sedan!
    Drove some favorite back roads today. It's not a match for my Gen 1 Miata, but as I adapt to the numb steering, it corners pretty well. Grassroots Motorsports magazine compared one with some other hatchbacks a while ago. They were surprised how well it acquitted itself on an autocross course! Power's really not that different from the Miata.