1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Incorrect or over simplified transmission description.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by okiebutnotfrommuskogee, Oct 10, 2007.

1. okiebutnotfrommuskogee

okiebutnotfrommuskogee Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi Group,

This is my first attempt at starting one of these from scratch. I hope it comes out right.

From time to time to time I get emails from our Toyota dealer. The most recent one had a link to an article about the 2008 Prius. In it was a very brief description of the transmission. Here is a quote from it.

" Prius uses other technologies to gain fuel efficiency, too. For instance, its transmission, a continuously variable automatic (CVT), substitutes a belt and pulley system for conventional gears to create a near-infinite number of drive ratios. Thus, the transmission will use the most efficient ratio to transmit power to the drive wheels. "

That sounds more like the CVT that was in the Civic Hybrid that I owned for almost five years before buying the 07 Prius and selling the Honda. By the way, that transmission had to be replaced twice in 45,000 miles.

Here is a link to the complete article. http://www.imakenews.com/jimnortontoy/e_ar...bnrV0K,b5gk0QrS

Are they right or are they wrong?

2. Danny Hamilton

Danny Hamilton Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(okiebutnotfrommuskogee @ Oct 10 2007, 09:40 AM) [snapback]523574[/snapback]</div>
    They are wrong.

3. 9G-man

9G-man Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(okiebutnotfrommuskogee @ Oct 10 2007, 10:40 AM) [snapback]523574[/snapback]</div>