1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Installed New Nexcel Battery now Have RED Triangle, no codes on scanner. Help !

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by monoshock, Sep 19, 2023.

Tags:
  1. monoshock

    monoshock Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    59
    25
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Okay I bought and installed a Nexcel battery over a year ago on my 2004. All went great and I'm very happy with the battery. Now for my 2005. I month or so ago the RED triangle came on and I put my scanner on the OBD and no codes were shown. I was thinking about buying s new Nexcel for this car anyway so I ordered one for it. Yesterday I installed the new 14 cells and all went good just like the 2004. I now still have the same problem with the RED triangle coming on. The car will go in to ready mode and the ICE will start and run.
    No codes on my scanner (Innova sc301)
    Help !
     
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    16,471
    8,393
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Did you get a battery failure code before you installed the battery for 2005? The red triangle can mean many things, not just a battery failure
     
    Brian1954 likes this.
  3. monoshock

    monoshock Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    59
    25
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. i forgot I do have a better scanner it's a Innova 31170RS. If I clear the code on the scanner the RED triangle stays off for 6 seconds and comes back on.
    Here are some pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. monoshock

    monoshock Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    59
    25
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    few more
     

    Attached Files:

  5. monoshock

    monoshock Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    59
    25
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I should have fixed the problem before I bought the new battery, but I was planning an buying one for this car anyways.
     
  6. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    11,033
    4,486
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Corrosion in the voltage sensing harness and ECU could be the problem... Did you clean and replace most of it?

    Also the most common problem is this:

    Install Safety Plug.JPG

    If that turns out that's the problem you'll need to disconnect the 12v for a few minutes to clear the code if it's not showing up in your code reader for clearing.
     
  7. monoshock

    monoshock Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    59
    25
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I replaced all the bus bars and nuts with new ones. I'll recheck the connections. I tried the 12 volt battery reset many times that didn't help.
    The total voltage is at 222 at the main wires. (see picture)
     
  8. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    11,033
    4,486
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The voltages aren't the same according to the photos you have, but you're going to need a P3000 to prove manufacture defect. Maybe try Car Scanner App, Dr. Prius App or Toyota Techstream to get error codes?
     
  9. monoshock

    monoshock Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    59
    25
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top TN
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I think I found the problem. A corroded wire end connector. (see pictures)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Brian1954

    Brian1954 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    758
    289
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    You are just guessing what the problem could be. If you have the RED triangle, you have trouble code(s). You need a better scanner to retrieve them. Take a look at this thread: https://priuschat.com/index.php?threads/232741/

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  11. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    11,033
    4,486
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It's worth a shot... So far Project Lithium has been able to afford to be generous in the warranty for issues with bad packs caused by a lack of cleaning up corrosion, but their warranty clearly states its not covered and during times of hot weather when the most warranty claims come in, you might have an issue. At the very least they'll ask you to send pictures of these cables to ensure they're clean or replaced before deciding how generous they can be and it's mostly an issue for people who drive way too long ignoring/clearing the red triangle that destroys a pack, not a brand new pack with an issue. But again, we don't know what the error codes are yet, so it's just guess work at the moment.
     
  12. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    8,762
    1,528
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I wouldn't show pictures of connectors like that to anybody not even myself that should have never ever been reused for at least been glass beaded or something but if that's the wire I'm thinking it is it's probably black halfway through if not from end to end from heat most of them are that I see I guess this is a thing. Maybe we can come up with a better wire or something for that or those two connections or whatever needs to be done
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  13. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    3,402
    1,466
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    That cable isn't great, but it's not significant to your problem. If it was, then you would have heat damage from high current through a high resistance cable (along with voltage drop and the related code).

    Do I assume that you cleaned or replaced the busbars and torqued all connection hardware to specification with a torque wrench? (48 inch pounds- if Nexcell uses the same hardware as OE)

    Does you Innova display results from 15-16 system on your Gen2 when you perform a "system scan"? If it just says "no codes found" then it is likely not fully capable to diagnose your fault. See the link posted above.

    That said, having block 10 showing 1.0V lower than the others isn't good. If that block is consistently low when discharging then the battery ecu would set codes. (usually voltage difference is 0.3V or less)

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    PriusCamper likes this.