1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Intentionally leaving prius on (AC on), while away???

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by busyrosy, Apr 24, 2006.

1. busyrosy

busyrosy New Member

Okay, I didn't know where to put this... I just picked up my prius today (sorry! I'm a newb!).

I have a dog, and I was wondering what you guys think about me leaving the dog in the car with the AC running. The car would be locked obviously, but the car would be on. I have the VIP security system, but I think the alarm is disabled when the car is on.

Should I be worried about this? Technically, someone can break the window and drive off, right? Or would they not because without the key you can't really turn the car back on once you accidently turn it off.

My dog is small, so he's in no way capable of scaring off anyone.

2. Vincent

Vincent Don't Wait Until Tomorrow

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    busyrosy

I do it all the time for my 80lb boxer.

Leave the Prius with A/C on, lock the doors with the mechanical key and I'm off. Sure it hurts my MPG, but my dog loves her weekend shopping trips with "Daddy" and even a few minutes in a locked car here in South Florida can be a killer. I leave an index card with "Air Conditioner Is On" in my window to keep any do-gooders from asking the Sheriff to "rescue" Mitzi while I'm away.

I've never left her alone for more than a half-hour, but I've left my Prius on for hours at a time to supply electricity at my office after hurricane Wilma.

3. nmrickie

nmrickie Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    That's good to know that the mechanical key works for that. I tried locking the door with the remote, but it won't when the car is still on.

4. AlphaTeam

AlphaTeam Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    You let a dog in your car?

5. taaustin

taaustin New Member