1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Interior Volume

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by skruse, Oct 22, 2004.

1. skruse

skruse Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    As a scientist I teach science at the high school and university levels. We take many extended-day field trips to ensure students learn by doing, not sitting passively in an enclosed room and attempt to learn from "talking heads."

I drove my new Prius to school (45 km) this morning (day two). Our AP Environmental Science students brought their luggage, sleeping bags, etc. to school in advance of a GLOBE (www.globe.gov) field trip to Yosemite National Park on the western slope of the Sierra Nevada. I lowered the rear seats and we packed the vehicle.

I drove home and transferred the luggage to my 1991 4Runner. It is now definitely winter with snow in the Sierra Nevada. Much to my pleasant surprise, the rear interior space of the Prius is only a little less than the 4Runner. The luggage transfer went quickly and easily.

Many compliments to the design engineers for packing a lot of knowledge into Toyota vehicles. The architectural and planning rule of thumb, "form follows function" is excellent in both the 4Runner and Prius.

2. cnetter

cnetter New Member

My wife was talking to the neighbor about (among other things) the pending arrival our my Prius. The neighbor, a long time VW driver, was envying the MPG numbers and green-ness of the Prius, but lamented saying something along the line of "oh but I love the amount of cargo space in my VW!" To which my wife replied, "Oh but wait till you see how much space is in the Prius!" There could be another convert in the making!

3. kjb516

kjb516 New Member