1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Intermittent Master Warning and Hybrid Failure Issues

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Cella Bella, Jun 28, 2017.

1. Cella Bella

Cella Bella New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Aloha,

I am a newbie here. I just bought a 2nd hand Prius off of someone from Craigslist on Sunday. Its a 2006 Prius with 171,000 miles. The car seemed to run fine with no issues on Sunday. I woke up to take it to work on Monday morning and the dash lights where the speedometer is was completely out. The back trunk door was also locked and would not open even though I pressed unlocked from inside the car and from the key fob. I manually unlocked the trunk from the inside then tried unplugging the negative wire from the 12V battery and replacing after 1 and 10 minutes. It did not fix the problem.

The car was still able to run (or so I thought) with the dash lights and trunk not opening so I decided to head to work. I got onto the freeway, was driving for about 10 minutes then noticed I was having to push harder on the gas pedal in order to keep my speed. I was pushing the pedal to the floor and barely rolling on the freeway so I pulled over and threw on my hazard lights. I noticed the Master Warning light on the dash and also the Hybrid System Failure like on the multifunction display. The air conditioner also started blowing hot air at this point as well. I called a tow truck and was towed home.

I charged the battery for about 12 hours. I couldn't figure out how to test the battery before charging. The dash lights were now on and bright and the trunk could open. The car started fine but the Master Warning light and Hybrid System Failure icons were still on.