1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

intermittent momentary stalling

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Paul McDougal, Oct 3, 2021.

1. Paul McDougal

Paul McDougal Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    My prius started doing something weird yesterday and I am hoping someone has seen this before. I am a good mechanic but new to hybrids. The car once in a while acts like it stalls, usually at freeway speeds. The car will have no power and the check engine light pops on and then a second or two later goes back off and the power is back. No codes are stored. My guess is it is stalling for a moment then picks back up. It usually takes anywhere from 1-5 seconds to recover, but never stored any codes.
    I don't think it is electrical as the radio, lights, and all other dashboard lights continue working properly. I am thinking something fuel related. It seems checking pressure is difficult in these cars and where the problem is so intermittent it would be hard to just test anyway. My ideas are

Failing fuel pump,
    Failing fuel pump relay
    Fuel Filter (I believe it is in the tank?)
    Fuel Pressure Regulator
    Just a bad tank of gas

As I said I hope someone has had a similar experience and can point me in the right direction or give me your thoughts.

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Maybe your code reader is missing stuff?

How many miles?

3. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    That would depend on whether you have an intermittent fuel delivery problem, or just intermittent symptoms because of a fuel delivery problem. Sometimes the problem is limited fuel delivery all the time, but you only notice it sometimes, like under conditions where the engine needs more fuel delivered.