1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Inverter whine or Trans-Axle noise <30 mph?

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by GregC1979, Dec 22, 2017.

1. GregC1979

GregC1979 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    How much "Inverter whine" should there be in a 60k mile Prius upon deceleration under 30 MPH? Also is there a way to tell the difference between inverter whine and trans-axle gear whine at that speed? It seems to be excessive (since I am fairly new to hybrid cars) maybe it's normal.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i think it's normal, but it's hard to diagnose whine on the net. how many miles on her?

Mendel Leisk likes this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Pretty much any time you're decelerating you'll hear that "inverter whine", I'd vote normal too.

4. GregC1979

GregC1979 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    Almost 64,000 miles.

Here's another person's video that sounds just like mine:

Here's one that sounds much quieter (normal)?:

5. Raytheeagle

Raytheeagle Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    How much braking force do you apply when you use your brakes?

Are they sudden stops or do you allow for a long casual stop?

What screen do you have up most of the time while you are driving? Have you used the HSI display, which can help show you how much charging you are doing while braking?

You may just be braking hard which will elicit the “louder” regen braking sounds.

If you have a friend or someone you know that has a Gen3 Prius that you could compare to?

Hope that helps(y).

6. GregC1979

GregC1979 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V