1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is it okay to buy at used 2003 Prius from a dealership?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by csley, Aug 6, 2011.

1. csley

csley New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It has 106,000 miles and is only $6990, but I was told that the usual life-span of a Prius battery is 150,000 miles. Is this a risky thing to do? I am a novice at Prius or any car buying, for that matter and could really use some advice. Two owners in the 9 years. No problems with the car from carstat info.

2. seilerts

seilerts Battery Curmudgeon

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Hybrid battery lifespan is a combination of age, mileage, and operating conditions. It is not easy to predict when failure will occur, but, as with any car, it is important to keep in mind that the potential for a major $2000+ repair exists. The transaxle also has a small-moderate failure rate. If you are financing more than half the purchase price on this car, I would not recommend it.

If you do not do your own maintenance or repairs, it is important to have someone other than a Toyota dealer lined up to perform such work for you. Dealerships will eat you alive. Hybrid repair is a small niche, and dealerships will take advantage of this and tell you untruthfully that no one other than one of their "certified" techs is qualified to work on the car.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    get a used corolla or camry. odds are better you won't have any major repairs.

4. csley

csley New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I really want a prius for the 50 mpg rate. I have a drive of 19 miles each way to work. I tried out the corolla as a rental and didn't like it. I thought of asking if they could give me a warranty on the car at the deal for a year.

5. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

ItsNotAboutTheMoney EditProfOptInfoCustomUser Title