1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is it worth having a second set of wheels and tires?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Ewhitaker0020, Mar 18, 2021.

1. Ewhitaker0020

Ewhitaker0020 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Somebody is offering to sell me a set of Prius rims along with 4 brand new continental tires. I'm trying to decide if it'll be worth having a second set of wheels. I'm about due for tires so that will mean I don't have to buy the set I was going to buy.

I kinda thought about throwing these on my car and getting some winter tires put on the other set of wheels. Then switching them out when winter hits, which I've never done before, but I've been seriously thinking about doing it because of how much I drive for work.

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Separate summer and winter tires on their own wheels are a common practice. Winter tires are a significant improvement over All-Season tires, and having them on separate rims avoids the cost and wear and tear from changing them on and off the rims every year. And maybe from the long customer lines at the tire shops just as a storm is forecast to arrive.

The only downsides are the cost of the extra rims (and TPMS sensors) themselves, and possibly the hassle of reprogramming the TPMS system twice a year.

Because of timing issues, I ended up with winter tires on my OEM wheels, and A/S tires on a take-off set of Plug-In-Prius wheels from someone who bought fancier wheels.

3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring