1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is "pedal to the metal" bad for the Prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by jmccord, Apr 5, 2006.

1. jmccord

jmccord New Member

Hello all.
    Thanks to everyone for all the informative postings. I think I'm addicted to both my Prius and PriusChat!
    As a mechanical engineer I love this car and it's technology, and while driving, feel confident that the Prius is far superior to other vehicles for 90% of my trips. However, coming from stronger V6 engines I'm missing the extra pickup when merging onto the freeway. Accelerating from a stopped position at a metering light onto 70-80 MPH southern California freeways can be a bit daunting.
    I know the Prius can really go when the accelerator pedal is fully depressed, but I can't help but wonder - does this harm the car in any way? As I recall, the manual says to avoid fully depressing the gas pedal for the first 600 miles. But what about after this break-in period? Have the Toyota engineers designed this car to handle full-throttle without ill effect, and if so, for how long?
    Thanks again,
    James

2. etyler88

etyler88 etyler88

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Don't worry. You are not opening the throttle, thank you fly by wire. Computer does it all and I have not heard of any problems from pedal mashing.

3. mikepaul

mikepaul Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    You get crappy MPGs if you lean on the pedal a lot. You find out how annoying Traction Control is when the tires slip even a tiny bit.

But it does zip up to speed if you work it right...

4. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    "Just Floor It" was the motto for the Classic Prius.