Is there a way to tell how many EV miles my car has traveled?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by GaryHere, Aug 9, 2015.

  1. GaryHere

    GaryHere Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    147
    27
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    When I had a Chevy Volt, thru OnStar you can see the miles for EV vs ICE.

    Is there a way to see this with a Prius? Just curious. Thanks
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,243
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    nope. it's probably in the 'black box', but only toyota has access to that.
     
  3. GaryHere

    GaryHere Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    147
    27
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    So I have to total the car to find out when they pull the "black box" :) hehe

    Kidding, thanks for the reply bisco
     
    bisco likes this.
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,243
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    yes, head on collision, and tell the investigators you stepped on the brake and the car accelerated. :p
     
  5. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    3,281
    536
    0
    Location:
    2014 Prius c
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Prius C shows it in one of the display screens. Total miles and % from what the counter (A or B) you choose.
     
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,243
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    cool! i sit corrected.:cool:
     
  7. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    3,281
    536
    0
    Location:
    2014 Prius c
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Not exactly. While he is an owner of Prius C and likely is asking about "C", the question is posted in Gen3 section, and Gen3 does not have this information displayed.

    Of cause you could get it off OBDII but to do that you'd need android phone/tablet, ELM327 plug and Torque or TorquePro app.
     
  8. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,243
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    at least it's available. i thought you would need toyota's top secret laptop.
     
  9. jfschultz

    jfschultz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    635
    112
    0
    Location:
    Germantown, TN
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Since this exists in the Plug-in Prius, perhaps there was a plan at one point to make the Prius C a plug-n.
     
  10. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,243
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    it only exists if you don't reset one of the trip screens. or someone at the dealer during service.
     
  11. GaryHere

    GaryHere Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    147
    27
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    actually I need to change that avi

    the C was traded in for the GenIII

    thanks for all the replies, when I had the C, I never saw that on the screens though I didnt look hard enough
     
  12. Prius Maximus

    Prius Maximus Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    871
    682
    1
    Location:
    Northeastern IL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I had a 2012 C. The tripmeter display tracked the EV miles as well as the % of EV. At 66,400 miles I had driven about 9,300 miles in EV, or 14%.
     
Loading...