1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is XM radio worth it?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Johno, May 26, 2004.

1. Johno

Johno Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I like gadgets but I still don't get this one. I can download to my iPod practically anything I want ( legal or not ) and be listening to it in minutes when and were I want without antennas or monthly fees etc. I have a friend who has XM in his truck and car with wires all over the place and things stuck to his dash. He likes the comedy channels but says the electric wires interfere with the reception. I still don't get it. What am I missing here?

2. aarons12

aarons12 New Member

nothing as far as i can tell. i am also a comedy-a-holic and use cd's and my nomad jukebox for all the stuff i want. maybe if i was a salesman with a big territory and spent a LOT of time in the car...

3. Danny

Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I have a 15-20 minute commute every morning, and frankly without XM I would go insane. The fact that I can instantly have access to basically any genre of song that I want as well as ESPN Radio, News, Talk Radio, Comedy, etc is highly HIGHLY addictive.

I challenge anyone to try out XM for 3 months and then try to give it up. You won't. I also have an mp3 player but found myself stop using it shortly after I got XM (over 1.5 years now) because I simply couldn't get all of the music I wanted on my mp3 player but could find it on XM.

You find yourself listening to music genres you never thought about listening to before. It's changed me more than I ever thought it would.

4. rflagg

rflagg Member