1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Japanese engineering superior to ours?...

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by endoildependency, Oct 11, 2005.

1. endoildependency

endoildependency New Member

I know this has been much discussed, but I'm going to post it again largely because there are so many engineers hereabouts.

My own premise is that I'd buy SEVERAL of the offerings of ANY among Japan's Toyota, Honda and Nissan before I'd buy ANY American-made car (with the possible exception of a Saturn VUE if they made it a true hybrid). And, of course, all three U.S. companies are losing market share.

(Disclaimer: yeah, I know, GM, Ford and Daimler aren't even the "Big Three" any more, but you know what the question is.)

I don't pose the question disingenuously, thinking I already "know" the "truth". I pose it because it bothers hell out of me.

I'm no expert, but let me frame it this way:

Is the main problem a "philosophical" thing, or even an "attitude" thing, that is, in the Big Picture, American manufacturers are simply marketing-driven and shortchange engineering?

Or are there nitty-gritty differences in "precision" things: measuring instruments, machine tools, etc.?

Are Japanese engineers trained differently?

Are union contracts strangling R & D?

2. aaf709

aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    So are you dismissing a Japanese car made in the US? I mean, are you looking at the name or the location?

3. endoildependency

Good point. Let's say "under the corporate direction (oversight) of"...

I know that globalization is trending toward a different sort of "hybridization".

4. NuShrike

NuShrike Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Are you aware the first generation VUEs had high rollover tendencies because the suspension was so cheaply/badly designed that it bent/failed under load?