1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Just added a 12v acc plug on back of arm rest

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by attyjeff, May 27, 2013.

1. attyjeff

attyjeff Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I don't know about you but seems like there is never enough power plugs to go around and the one under the arm rest is a pain if you want to close the arm rest. I'm sure there are easier ways to do this I am not an expert unless you need an attorney. So here goes. I also took step per step pictures for you. From one to five it was really easy maybe one or two. Took about 30 to 45 minutes. First get you a aux 12 volt plug. Walmart has attwood ones in the boating section. They cost 7.58. You will need 14a gauge wire and a fuse holder. And a pair of crimping plyers. Along with wire connectors and a loop connector for the battery post. First I opened my armrest and cleaned the stuff out. Then lifed out the felt pad insise the 4 bolts should be 10mm remove them. Then pull up on the drink holder next to the armrest, it will pop off. Then remove the 10mm bolt that is there holding the armrest tower to the car. Now squeeze the connectors to the aux music jack and power outlet and the tower will lift right out. I measured 6 1/2 inches from the bottom of the tower. This will allow you to fit the new power outlet inbetween the tower bracket. Then measure for the middle and mark. Get a hole saw for your drill and drill you a hole. I think I used the smallest one I had. Should be 1 1/2 now drill the hole. Now take the power outlet you bought and remove the rubber back. Now unscrew the nut and remove the bracket. Now place the outlet into the hole you just made and screw the nut on tight to hold in in place. Put back the rubber piece. Now open your hatch. Remove the plastic floor area. Now the plastic trunk area. Now the battery trunk frame thing. Next I removed