1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Just an off-the-wall thought about written-off Priuses and classic cars

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by hkmb, May 12, 2014.

1. hkmb

hkmb Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm not an engineer.

But I just saw something that set me thinking. It's not something I'd do now, but if it's possible, it quite appeals in the future.

Over the last couple of days, I've seen a couple of things on car auction and car sale websites.

One was a salvage auction. There was a Prius, a Prius C and a HyCam. All three had been badly rear-ended, and had been written off. But both had undamaged engines, transmissions, and (I think) batteries.

The other thing was a classic car website. There were a couple of cars that had good bodies and good interiors, but completely knackered engines, transmissions and brakes. One of them was a Rover 110. When I was a kid (in the 80s), my Dad had one of these - in the same colours as the one in the picture below - and I loved it.

[​IMG]

The other was an Armstrong-Siddely.

[​IMG]

I was thinking how much I'd love something like that, but how annoying it would be to deal with the dodgy reliability of cars built in a time when you'd pass dozens of them in clouds of steam by the side of the road on any long journey. And how I'd like decent brakes and decent fuel economy.

So I was thinking.....

If, at some point in the future (when I have time, space and money to spare on such fripperies), I wanted to, would it be possible to take advantage of this? Would it be possible to buy a pretty-but-non-functioning classic car, and a mechanically-sound hybrid write-off, and drop the hybrid engine into the classic car?