1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Just bought a 2008 Prius! Did I do well? Thoughts? Advice?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by b8b, May 6, 2011.

1. b8b

b8b Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi All!

I am happy to say that I just bought a white 2008 Prius package #2 with 45k miles, one owner (was a company car). I paid $16,500. Did I do OK? :)

I was trying to choose between that or a Camry Hybrid (loaded: leather, NAV, etc.) with 92k miles for $13,500 but the latter was almost 3 hours away and I just needed a car (just sold my old '95 Toyota Previa AllTrac S/C). The Camry is MUCH more comfortable (I find the Prius seats very uncomfortable after just 15 minutes, lower back pain, I am not overweight or anything), but I like the hire miles. Averaging only 45-47 MPG 80% highway, but I am new at it. I hope I made the right choice.

It is pretty clean, has 7/10's tread left on some generic looking Fisk Classics 185/65R15 tires (wondering about filling them to 42/40 PSI).

The guy selling it said all maintenance had been done at the dealer. I took him at his word because there was an oil change sticker in the window. Turns out he either a) wasn't telling the entire truth or b) didn't know as he was the CEO and had 42 employees (was a compay day off, he was the only one at the office and his name was on the title). Dealership records show 30k and 45k service done there, so maybe they oil changes elsewhere.