1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Just how good are the HID Lights on '06s?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by GreenMachine, Dec 20, 2005.

1. GreenMachine

GreenMachine New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I don't see as well as I would like at night if there isn't a lot of light so I avoid night driving whenever possible. It isn't a dangerous situation yet, but .......

I am about to choose either a Pakage #5 or a Package #7, and the main reason for considering the higher package is the self-leveling HID lights. I already have a Garmin handheld GPS that I have been using for several years so the Nav part of Package #7 would be nice, but not a deal maker.

What do those of you who already have your '06s with HID lights think of the way they work?

They might be the same as the HID lights on the earlier models, but I am not sure. I looked at the light pattern on an '06 today (not able to drive it or see it at night since it is sold) and saw what appears to be a very distinct cut off pattern which I think is intended to keep the light out of an incoming drivers eyes while throwing maximum light on the road?

Comments will be most helpful to help me make this decision.

2. justinc

justinc New Member

Hi GreenMachine,

I picked up my 06 package #6 a few weeks ago, and have not been disappointed with the HID lights. I almost went with a lower package which did not have the HID's, but I had experience with another car that had HID's and really loved it. I think they allow me to see much clearer at night. Is package #6 not available in your area?

3. GreenMachine

GreenMachine New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III

Thanks for the input -- no package six here :( Jumps from 5 to 7

4. KTPhil

KTPhil Active Member