1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

"kind of" a Brake Question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by cyberpriusII, May 27, 2011.

1. cyberpriusII

cyberpriusII Prodigyplace says I'm Super Kris

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My Prius is now at 31K. :eek:

I tried to log-in and ask this Tuesday, but PriusChat apparently was grumpy that day and loaded me down with malware (see post in Fred's for details).

Anyway, I don't think this is a real problem, but I noticed a few times in the past few days that when I had my foot on the brake for a "bit of time" that the pedal would sink slowly to the floor. Like it was being pushed through marshmallow foam --- YUMMMM.

OK, I'm a scientist and I realize my vague language is not a help here. So, my best guess is that three times in five days of driving, which probably means in 60 miles of driving -- at most and probably less -- this has happened. This happened probably two seconds after a full and complete stop, while foot was still on brake.

Having had a "like" problem in my old Corolla a few years ago, I checked the brake fluid and it is fine. I DID NOT crawl under and check the bleeder connections at the front wheels, which was the problem with my old Corolla (and, which, I proudly fixed myself). Not sure the Prius has those anyway, but it probably does:confused:

So, this has happened about three times in the past week or so. I don't remember this happening before. Pretty much, this does NOT happen. Brakes work fine. Fluid is fine. I don't really want to crawl under -- it is a tight fit.

Any thoughts? I know, brakes are important, but the Prius brakes are not really brakes, usually, right...:confused:

2. jdenenberg

jdenenberg EE Professor

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    Get Thee to the dealer. You probably have a problem in the brake hydraulic system.