1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Letting the Prius C Sit for extended periods?

Discussion in 'Prius c Technical Discussion' started by raddtracey, Oct 5, 2012.

1. raddtracey

raddtracey New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Hi -- I am new to prius. I am car shopping (don't own one yet) and am deciding between the Prius C and a gasoline car like the Scion xD.

My lifestyle is such that sometimes I go travel overseas for work for months at a time. Sometimes one month, sometimes three months, sometimes seven or eight months.

Obviously this is not ideal, but I have heard of many people that have left their gasoline vehicles in storage (w/traditional battery disconnected) and come back and their vehicles are fine.

So question -- is storing a Prius any different? Any better? Any worse?

Many thanks.

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    You do not want a vehicle powered via a High Voltage battery.

Toyota warns against storing a Prius over 3 months without starting the car for 30 minutes.
    http://www.toyota.com/t3Portal/document/om/OM47784U/pdf/sec_01-01.pdf
    (page 4 of the PDF, page 33 of the Prius v manual)

3. raddtracey

raddtracey New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks for that.

Hm, I wonder if that means that the Toyota Dealership can readily just recharge it? If I had to tow it to the dealer to recharge I would not mind at all, it's a small price to pay. I just want to make sure that I would not be doing irreparable harm to the battery...? Hm.

4. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
  5. ageless

ageless New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    ensure you dont have ethanol fuel or add a fuel addidtive for ethanol or your fuel system will be SHOT!!!

6. dick_larimore