1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Local Fire Department Invite

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Seagull6, Nov 1, 2006.

1. Seagull6

Seagull6 New Member

The local fire department has invited me to speak on Prius Emergency Reponse Procedures in a couple of weeks. I have the 2004 Model 2nd Generation Emergency Response Guide which I plan to reproduce for all the firefighters and review with them. In addition I plan to have my car (2006) in the firehouse where I can point out the batteries, inverter, cables, power button, sks, etc.

(I think I know the answer to this one) Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I need to emphasize with the fire department beyond what is in the Emergency Response Guide? I'm a private pilot and experimental aircraft builder and have done things like this before for fire/rescue personnel with respect to aircraft, but I would like be as concise as possible for the Prius and also provide some guidelines for hybrids in general. I think I'll have about 1.5 hours on the agenda November 20th.

Thoughts and suggestions would be appreciated. :D

2. Locust43

Locust43 New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Seagull @ Nov 1 2006, 05:58 PM) [snapback]342246[/snapback]</div>
    Thats good they are training the FD about these things. My city's emergency response team were trained about all the hybrids and stuff.
    I have a question for you.
    How safe would the prius be after a crash for a emergency responder who knew nothing about the Prius? Does the Hybrid Battery cut off after a crash. What does the Prius do to help itself. I know my Prius 06" model has orange wires for the electrical stuff

3. dandeman

dandeman Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    III
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Seagull @ Nov 1 2006, 06:58 PM) [snapback]342246[/snapback]</div>