1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Looking at the prius

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Backwoods901, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Backwoods901

Backwoods901 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Good morning all.

My names Seth, im active duty military with a wife and 3 kids.

I am currently looking at used a few used prius. i currently have a 100 mile commute all highway i currently drive a 2000 chevy impala that i got from my brother almost 4 years ago that is becoming a major money pit. i have been looking at 05-09 with anywhere from 100,00-150000.
    i am a diesel mechanic by trade and have looked at VW TDI but i have a friend that bought a 98 and is now in a major money pit from the dealers and the fact that things break easier from what i have seen on VW.

i have driven a prius before a friends mom owns on and i loved the fact that it greats such good mileage and is an easy to use car.

any advice and ideas are appreciated i live in eastern nc.

Seth

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    First, here is my "who should not own a Prius" post considering a Prius | PriusChat No car is for everyone, these can be showstoppers for some.

The back seat is full with two car seats, how many of the children are still in car seats?

As a mechanic, you will be able to do 90% of the maintenance yourself. (Bleeding the brakes takes a $1500 piece of software to defeat the regen braking) You can enter that maintenance on Toyota's website as proof you are doing so. Service History Online - Toyota Owners

Johnprius likes this.
  3. Backwoods901

Backwoods901 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A