1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Looking for advice on Prius with Solar Roof

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by atheneowl, Oct 8, 2009.

1. atheneowl

atheneowl New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am in the process of trying to negotiate a good deal for a 2010, model III, with only the solar panel package. I am trying to avoid the other bells and whistles but so far its been difficult to find one without them. I have a 2002 and am ready to move on to Gen III. I'm trying to find out if the solar roof package is REALLY as good as it sounds. Anyone out there have one, especially those living in a hot climate? I'm in FL and especially interested. Thank you. I'm new to this...:)

2. HI MPG

HI MPG Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I live in Southern Cal, so it does get plenty hot here... I have the package IV with the sunroof and solar panels. I was the opposite of you, I actually wanted the package IV without the sunroof package but purchased it anyways since that was the only Prius the dealer received. I think to answer your question, I would need to know your expectations.
    The fans powered by the solar roof will just basically "vent" the interior, trying to maintain the same temp as outside the vehicle. It will not make your car cooler than the outside temp. Saying that, it does make a difference as the Prius is pretty much a hothouse with all the glass. The interior of my wife's gen II Prius will get stifling hot when exposed to the sun for a period of time, whereas the interior of mine will be bearable (especially with the leather seats).