1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Looking to buy a used hybrid battery, need some advice!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by MashinA, Sep 4, 2013.

1. MashinA

MashinA Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey guys so i need to buy a hybrid battery for my 07 prius since mine keeps going bad after spending money on fixing it a couple of times. A friend of mine says he has a battery from a wrecked prius that has around 30k miles on it. My question is what should i look for in a used battery, i know this one has been sitting for several months not being used, is that bad for it? Any other questions i should ask before purchasing? He only wants $350 for it so it seems like a good deal.
    I would appreciate your input as i am pretty new to this. Thanks!

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    is it from a gen II? it's probably fine, but the only way to be sure, (other than installing it) would be to test each individual cell.

3. MashinA

MashinA Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    yes its fro ma gen II. As far as testing every cell, how many cells are in there?

4. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    My advise considering what you say there ,is that if you don't know what you're doing when dealing with 200+ volts of DC battery, is to LEAVE IT ALONE and let someone who is trained deal with it.

Get it wrong and the battery can kill you.

5. MashinA

MashinA Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    im not installing it myself....i meant as far as advice on what to look and ask for in a used hybrid battery.

6. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    That's ok then :)