1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Looking to drive into a deal

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Drac, Dec 10, 2018.

1. Drac

Drac New Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I live in NW Indiana. I currently own a 2010 Sonata. I have been looking to get a hybrid. I was about sold on leasing a Honda Insight, disappointed that the Prius was so pricey compared to the Insight and Hyundai Ioniq.

I happened upon this forum and it has broadened my horizons. I'm now looking at the possibility of driving 400+ miles to the nearest NE US dealer that offers the current $4000 Toyota rebate on a Prius Prime Premium. Which would bring the $30,000 car down to a more manageable $26,000.

I am looking for advice on what to expect in a long distance negotiation. From what I've read in other posts, I may not have much wiggle room for haggling. Which, frankly, I'm not very good at anyway. Are there any tips from Prime owners who have been in a similar situation? Maybe an approach that you found successful in your phone negotiations?

Any tips from the rest of the community are welcome. Including what to expect on a lengthy drive home. Potentially, you know, if this should work out.

2. Skibob

Skibob Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Have you tried buying a car through Costco? I think you get the price set from an individual dealer.

3. VFerdman

VFerdman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The best leverage in hagling is to be fully prepared to walk away from the deal. If you have that in the core of your being before you cross the dealer's threshold, they will smell it on you and the whole game is played differently. Short of that there is no way to get a good deal on a new car. By the time you get it home it will have lost 20% of what you paid for it.

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in