1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Lovenox

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by daniel, Feb 5, 2007.

1. daniel

daniel Cat Lovers Against the Bomb

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Today I had to give myself two injections of Lovenox, one in the morning, and another in the evening. Just finished the second. The morning's injection site is nastily black and blue. I don't know if it's because I mucked it up (wouldn't be surprised, since I've never done this before and had nothing to go on but the printed instructions -- in particular I do not have a steady hand) or if this is normal. The instructions require holding a fold of skin of the belly while giving the shot, so that the syringe has to be manipulated entirely with one hand -- and no prior practice.

Tomorrow I have to give myself two more, one in the morning, and one at night. And then Wednesday I go in for my operation: a pulmonary vein ablation, to correct my atrial fibrillation. The operation (according to my cardiologist) has a 75% success rate, and a 1% complication rate. In other words, it's pretty safe, but one in four get no benefit for their trouble. If I disappear from PC you'll know I'm enjoying a cool one on the slopes of the beer volcano.

It will be a few months before I know if it was a success, unless I'm dead, in which case I won't know anything. It takes that long for the scar tissue to form, which will, in the hoped-for outcome, block the signals that are causing the a-fib. I don't care whether anyone wishes me well, or prays for me, or "sends me good vibes" because none of that is going to matter. What matters is how well my cardiologist does his job. And he is supposed to be the best in the region at this operation. It also matters if my a-fib is actually originating in the pulmonary veins or not. It most often is, but they have no way to tell.