1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Low MPG on Prius?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by John Brennan, Aug 5, 2012.

1. John Brennan

John Brennan JJGreen

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

I purchased a certified pre-owned 2008 Prius (4 door with hatch) a few weeks ago. I love the ride and I have been driving mostly around town with a few rides on the open highways doing 60mph. I noticed that my average MPG has only been around 33 mpg. All of the literature that I read stated I should see an average of 42 to 45mpg. Since I am new to the Prius can you let me know how I can get the mpg into the 40's or do I need to have the car checked?

thanks,
    John

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    unless you're flooring it all the time, doing 80+ all highway or live in the rockies, i would have the dealer check it. that's why you buy certified, right?

3. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
  4. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Obviously, there are many reasons it may be performing poorly.

One reason may be a nearly dead 12 volt battery. In a 'normal' car you would know it was almost dead by the "Ur ur ur" noise it makes when starting the engine, but in a Prius it only starts the computers, the HV Battery starts the engine, so you may have a dead 5 year old 12 volt battery and not know it.

One simple way to test this is by trying to use the power windows before you turn the car on, but there is a more accurate way as well:
    Weird stuff happening? MPGs dropping? Test The Battery | PriusChat

Another 'Prius" issue that can hinder performance is a dirty throttle body:
    TB cleaning

5. John Brennan

John Brennan JJGreen

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A