1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Maintenance required

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by dstamant2001, Mar 20, 2010.

1. dstamant2001

dstamant2001 New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I am very new to the Prius. I just bought an '06 with 47K. As soon as it hit 48K the "maint reqd" light came on. Is this just an indication of an oil change or could it be something else. It is going back for a repair on the bumper and a couple of other things and they are taking care of the light. I just want to be sure that they do what needs to be done and not just reset the indicator light. Any input would be most appreciated.

Thank you,

Dave

2. Prius 07

Prius 07 Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Hi Dave and :welcome:to Priuschat. Yes you're correct - based on when the maintenance required light was reset light was reset last time it is time for you next maintenance. If you look it your maintenance manual the recommended service interval is every 5K miles. The maintenance manual will spell out what is required or you can check on-line by going to Toyota / dealership's web-site ....maintenance schedule ... follow instructions on the screen:
    Toyota Parts and Service
    Not sure if you're late for your 45K or early for 50K (likely the former), but your dealer should be able to tell you from their on-line records (assuming service was done at one of the Toyota dealers).

Enjoy your Prius experience:),

1 person likes this.
  3. dstamant2001

dstamant2001 New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thank you so much for the information. Everyone one the forum is amazing and extremely promp with answers to questions.

Thanks again,

Dave

4. Caroline

Caroline New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi -