1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Maintenance Warranty (coverage)?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by bob dylan, Dec 3, 2005.

1. bob dylan

bob dylan New Member

Hi guys,
    Sorry if this has been covered here already, but I am new to the Prius world...

I just bought an '06 last week and got the 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty.

Is there also some sort of Maintanence Warranty (oil changes, tire rotations, regular maintanence stuff) that I should get or look into?

Your thoughts are GREATLY appreciated!

2. Jack 06

Jack 06 New Member

Winters, CA: Prius capital of US. 30 miles W of S
    They're not "warranties", but many dealers sell pre-paid maintenance plans. They're high-profit propositions, being based on the high rates dealers charge in their service departments. Some PCers do some or most of their own maintenance (oil changes, air filter changes, tire rotations, spark plug replacement, etc., depending on what they feel are their own personal limitations) and save, oh, probably around 75% compared to what dealers---or franchise places like Jiffy Lube or Econo Lube and Tune (CA)--- charge. There's more info in the Maint. forum, I think.

3. IsrAmeriPrius

IsrAmeriPrius Progressive Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Service contracts underwritten by Toyota Financial Services are available at discounted prices through PriusChat.

Please refer to this thread for details:

Discounted Toyota Prius Extended Warranty /Service Contracts

4. Twiddles

Twiddles New Member

I was wondering the same thing.

Are ALL Toyota dealers REQUIRED to accept the prepaid maintenance coupons, or is it up to the individual dealership?

5. IsrAmeriPrius

IsrAmeriPrius Progressive Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    The Toyota Financial Services website Prepaid Maintenance page lists all of the details and has a dealer locator, presumably to those who participate in the plan.