1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Marital Status and Insurance Rates

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by New Revelation, Apr 15, 2007.

1. New Revelation

New Revelation The Master Captain

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I have a question that's been bugging me for awhile. I normally hate asking questions because sometimes it seems dumb to ask them but, is there a possibility that single people have a slight disadvantage when it comes to insurance rates?

First off, I am 30 now (just turned on March 30th), single and never married and no kids. Yet when I have been checking rates for my 2007 Prius and Olds, I keep getting rates of $2,500 a year, which is quite expensive. And breaking it down results to about $235 a month for me. That's expensive. And this is with the Prius as the commuter vehicle with full coverage (23 miles one way) and the Olds as pleasure vehicle which is an 84 model and only needs liability.

Recently I have just changed around the policy to make the Prius the pleasure vehicle and the Olds as the work car, and that lowered the monthly rate to about $206 or so. But that's still too expensive though, especially when I have read past postings here of the majority of you guys paying way less for insurance.

But as I have observed, the majority of you guys here are married and have homes and families and such, which I do not have. Maybe that's where the lower rates are going to? I know it sucks being single in some cases especially for a male since things seem to cost more, but there's no hope of me ever marrying in my lifetime so I am not sure how that works.