1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Marketing the Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by DolphinC, Mar 25, 2007.

1. DolphinC

DolphinC New Member

Do you believe that Toyota has done well with the little advertising on the Prius? Obviously not if they collectiing dust at the dealership? How would you suggest they improve their marketing strategy in order to move the hybrids?

Question is open to all, as a Marketing Manager, I would luv to hear your views?

2. donee

donee New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hi DolphinC,

I really do not think this is a Toyota mistep, as a result of all the FUD (anti-marketing) being done by who knows who (probably GM).

Here is a link to FUD:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FUD

Just look around at the CNW Research stuff, and the Daily Mail article about the Subbury Canada 1970's Nickel production polution.

People in the US have been also been brainwashed that SUV's are safer. When an SUV has more traffic deaths per 100K miles than an equal weight car. When SUV's tip over, its that sudden whip-lash as the side of the SUV impacts the ground. People die in SUV's just like the Nascar driver, but at 50 mph, instead of 100 mph. Lately, it made national news that somebody drove a Prius into a gas station. Its common here in the winter to hear about SUV's loosing control and going through somebody's bedroom, or store front. But does it make national news? No.

The anouncement of the GM Volt concept is probably more anti-marketing directed at the Prius, especially since they are now trying to tone down the excitement it produced.