1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Master Warning Light truble.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Ma Xiong, Mar 6, 2014.

1. Ma Xiong

Ma Xiong New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have a 2004 Toyota Prius with 95k that I would like to drive to work everyday. Only problem is that after the car warms up(2-3 minutes of driving), whenever I gas the car to go the Master Warning Light comes on, and as long as I'm gassing it stays on followed up by a picture of the oil lamp comes up. Now if you stop accelerating than it goes off and comes right back on when you start accelerating. I'm new to these Prius and would appreciate it if I could get some advice. I checked the engine oil level and it is almost full. I took the car to the shop and all they said was that the transmission was overfilled.(but they did not drain the fluid to bring the transmission oil down.) Is it possible that the oil picture on the top left of the Navi display is caused from overfilled transmission fluid? please help me.

2. ericbecky

ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I would think there would be some stored error codes.

Any chance they gave you can get a diagnostic printout that identifies any codes that occurred?

3. Ma Xiong

Ma Xiong New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    they said that there was no codes at all. it was a full diagnostic. as I said it only comes on when the car is warmed up and only when you accelerate.

4. bedrock8x

bedrock8x Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Check engine oil level. It must be very low.

5. Ma Xiong

Ma Xiong New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I did and its full. Do you think it can be the cause of overfilling the transmission fluid?

6. Ma Xiong

Ma Xiong New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A