1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Maximizing Battery Charge

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Surfinbird, May 18, 2005.

1. Surfinbird

Surfinbird Junior Member

I've had my new 2005 Prius about three weeks and love it! I'm still learning the best ways to drive to maximize mileage (So far avg. about 54 mpg over the three weeks.) But I still haven't gotten the battery to charge over 9 bars.... usually runs in the 6-8 area. Is it important to get a full charge? Is it a function of how much the gas motor runs?

I commute from the Burbs to downtown Chicago, about 25 miles one way, with all the usual slowed traffic. That's when I love to see that 99.9 Mpg! But I have done some longer trips with cruise, and while recharging regularaly, the battery has never been maxed out.

Just wondering if this is par for the course.

Surfinbird

2. kidtwist

kidtwist New Member

The battery almost never gets over 9 bars. I never seen it in mine, and from what I've read, few people have. I think you'd have to go down a very long slope to see it.

3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Of course it won't go to 9 bars. There are only 8 bars!

4. jeromep

jeromep Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    There is no need to worry about the battery. The computer system will maintain the charge at an approrpriate and battery life maximizing level. You usually only get green if you are going downhill for an extended period of time.

On my daily commute I basically go downhill and by the time I pull into the garage at work I have 7 bars and green. When I go home I return to 5 or 6 bars and blue.