MFD Touchscreen calibration - Diagnostic Menu > Product Diagnosis Menu

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by youdiejoe, Oct 3, 2014.

  1. youdiejoe

    youdiejoe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    31
    48
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I was having trouble with my 2007 MFD touch screen, it was WAY out of alignment, mis-reading my touches on screen by several inches.

    I use to have an old Compaq PDA that had a calibration function and figured that one had to exist for the Prius MFD, luckily a google search lead me to this link:

    2007 Prius - Easter Egg

    Which gives you instructions on how to reach the "Diagnostic Menu" which many people have posted about. This 1st level menu has a "Display Check" but no actual calibration functions. LUCKILY there is 2nd level menu you can then reach called "Product Diagnosis Menu" (step by step instructions on how to access this menu are at the link above) and it is on that menu you can see the "Calibration" program which, like my old PDA, gives you crosshairs to tap to re-align the touch screen!

    Once I was able to navigate to the screen (it took several tries as my touch screen was very much out of alignment) I was able access the program and fix my problem!

    Hope this helps others!
     
    SFO, prius_nerd and wjtracy like this.
  2. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,077
    3,486
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Good post!
    We recently started seeing this MFD screen calibration problem too. I could not find too many others reporting the problem here, but finally found one or two old threads on the topic. Here is YouTube discussion:
     
  3. Doug_M

    Doug_M Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    17
    1
    0
    Location:
    Boulder Co
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Update! I found the method on this page Undocumented Custom Menus on the 2004 Toyota Prius
    The method is to get to the Diagnostic Menu, as above (I used the hold-the-display-button-and-switch-the-lights-method), and then tap the top left, then bottom right of the screen. I had to do this twice. Calibration was available, and worked perfectly.

    So far I can't find my way into this second "Product Diagnosis Menu". The technique doesn't seem to work on my car (2009) . Anyone have any other ideas for getting to the calibration menu?
    thanks
    Doug
     
    #3 Doug_M, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
    wjtracy likes this.
  4. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,077
    3,486
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Hey that did it for me...thank you
     
  5. Daves09prius

    Daves09prius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    680
    159
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hey Priuschat moderaters, do you think that this should be a sticky?
     
  6. thomus

    thomus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    26
    6
    0
    Location:
    california
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Rather than making an entire new thread i was hoping i could hopefully get the answers here as this Is one of the many, many threads ive been reading to try and figure out the calibration of my mfd in my 06. I understand getting to the right dealer screen but because of how far out of whack my mfd is I cant. Is there a way to do it externally somehow or am i stuck with buying a new one. Ive disconnected 12v for 20 minutes or so. If i were to disconnect the mfd itself is there like a factory reset that it will fall back to? Any advice is welcomed.
     
  7. srellim234

    srellim234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    1,160
    1,639
    0
    Location:
    Laughlin, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    thomus - that happened to ours. It was so far off the calibration couldn't be done. Both a computer repair shop and the dealer took shots at the repair. The dealer even tried taking it out of the car and powering it some other way in an attempt to "jolt" it back in line enough to adjust it. We wound up replacing it with a refurbished unit.
    Through the dealer it's expensive but they did offer a one year, unlimited mileage warranty on the replacement unit. Ebay is much cheaper and it's not that hard to do the installation yourself.
     
    Daves09prius likes this.
  8. thomus

    thomus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    26
    6
    0
    Location:
    california
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks srellim. I assumed i would have to go with a refurb unit.
     
  9. illuminaut

    illuminaut New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    4
    2
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I can't find a way to get into the second level Product Diagnosis menu either on my 2011. Anybody knows how to get to that Calibration screen in a 3rd gen?
     
  10. ErikD

    ErikD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Traverse City, MI
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Same issue here. I can get to the initial Diagnostic screen, but can't get to the Calibration screen.
    Catch-22! I need the screen to be calibrated to get to the calibration screen! Arg!
     
  11. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,077
    3,486
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Misery loves company we are in the same boat.
    Most essential Climate functions are in the steering wheel too.
    So there is not much we cannot do...very hard to do some things like RESET, but after 20 or 30 pushes it goes.

    Before I give up I want to try disconnecting 12v battery, and also I want to see if TechStream has a screen calibration function.
    So not quite ready to give up.

    I had calibrated it quite well too, but one day it was way off.
     
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,241
    10,603
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Untethered speculation ahead: I've never had to deal with this issue on a Prius MFD. What I have, though, is a general sense over the years that I've seen a lot of electronic gadget malfunctions and they've turned out less often to involve components really going bad, and more often to involve deteriorating connection quality at any of the places removable connectors are used to make things serviceable. You'd be surprised how often I've fixed dead things by nothing more than systematically unplugging/replugging, or even just wiggling, whatever ribbon connectors, socketed ICs, etc., I can find inside. Often I'll hit things I unplug with a little squirt of GC Jiffy Bath, which I've had the same can of for years now.

    Where I'm going with that is that I'd guess the touch calibration might be drifting because of resistance building up at a connector. There is probably a ribbon cable leading from the touch screen to some zero-insertion-force connector on the circuit board. If it were mine, and I was having trouble keeping it in calibration, I would probably look for that connector, separate it (be careful to learn how the ZIF connector clamps and unclamps, they're delicate), shine up the copper at the end of the ribbon with some Jiffy Bath, insert and remove it in the ZIF connector a few times before finally clamping it back down, and THEN go through the calibration screen again, and see how long that holds.

    -Chap
     
    SFO and wjtracy like this.
Loading...