1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Mice in my car

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by gavilan, May 18, 2007.

1. gavilan

gavilan New Member

I have had my 2006 Prius for 8 months and am experiencing a dreadful problem with my car. Mice have invaded the interior of my car for the last two months. My car started smelling one day while I was driving my clients around to look at houses (I am a real estate Broker). In the next few days the smell got so bad that I couldn't bear to drive my car. Of course, I need my car for business so I had no choice. Then one day a dead mice fell out from under the dashboard while I was driving recently.

I took my car in to the Toyota mechanic and he had to take the entire ventilating system apart. He found four more dead mice. He flushed and cleaned the system out, and installed some mesh screening to prevent the mice from entering through the ventilation holes. It cost me close to $500. I felt very fortunate because it seemed that the problem was under control.

Now it's two weeks later and my car is beginning to smell again. I also found mice droppings in the interior of my car this afternoon. I don't know what to do. I don't even want to get in my car. And, to take clients out is even worse. The smell is noxious. I can't keep taking my car in and having it dismantled. Does anyone know of any way I can keep the mice out of my car. I park outside because our small garage is full. I also want to mention that I had a Subaru Forester for a long time and this never happened. My husband has a Dodge truck and it hasn't happened to him. Why my Prius?

I have heard that it is a problem with Toyotas. I would appreciate any solutions you may have so I can drive my car in peace.

Thank you.

Jill

2. derkraut

derkraut Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II