Microsoft cuts Vista prices to urge upgrades

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by TimBikes, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. TimBikes

    TimBikes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    2,492
    245
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Interesting. Hasta la Vista?

    "Microsoft Corp (MSFT.O) said on Thursday it plans to cut prices of its Windows Vista operating system sold at retail outlets in a move aimed at pushing customers to switch to the newest version of Windows."

    I myself just bought a new machine with XP Pro. Had it been only for home use I might have considered Vista, but in order to logon to my clients networks I need XP.

    There is, by the way, a petition to save XP.

    Also, I guess Microsoft is accelerating work on Vista's successor, Windows 7.

    I don't have any particular love or hate toward Microsoft, but it's looking more and more like they screwed up with Vista. Having said that, my understanding is they have a harder environment to be successful in than Apple, given their desire to maintain backward compatibility and ensure interoperability over a much broader range of devices.
     
  2. daniel

    daniel Cat Lovers Against the Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    14,487
    1,512
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Lower the price of a poke in the eye, and I still won't buy one.
     
  3. BigFoot

    BigFoot Dissident

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    110
    0
    0
    Location:
    A Trailer!
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    +1

    Most of the programs I use have major stability issues with Vista. If it was free I still wouldn't take it. Maybe in a few years when the software I use has been re-engineered to work with it I may consider it, but not yet.
     
  4. apriusfan

    apriusfan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    6,050
    205
    0
    Location:
    S.F. Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    +2. I am happily typing this post on my MacBook Pro with Leopard. When I absolutely have to use Windows, I reach for the 'obsolete' XP Pro notebook that I keep for such events. Fortunately for me, I am reaching for the XP Pro notebook less and less.
     
  5. IsrAmeriPrius

    IsrAmeriPrius Progressive Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    4,333
    6
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    What does Microsoft Vista had to do with politics?:confused:
     
  6. daniel

    daniel Cat Lovers Against the Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    14,487
    1,512
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Tim probably thought he was posting in FHOP.
     
  7. boulder_bum

    boulder_bum Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    1,371
    38
    0
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I have Vista Ultimate 64 bit installed on my desktop. It was painful for awhile, but it seems stable enough now.

    What drives me bonkers is that Microsoft themselves don't support their new operating system (they don't have x64 connectors for Windows Home Server and some of their hardware drivers aren't 64 bit compatible), so it's harder to criticize folks like Apple, who only recently added 64 bit support for iTunes.
     
  8. Wildkow

    Wildkow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    5,270
    37
    36
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    !LOL!
     
  9. TimBikes

    TimBikes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    2,492
    245
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Yep - oops. Can a moderator move it?
     
  10. hyo silver

    hyo silver Awaaaaay

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    15,231
    1,561
    0
    Location:
    off into the sunset
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Things can get pretty nasty between windows and apple users... :argue:
     
  11. slair

    slair Ubër Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    404
    0
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Isnt Leopard 64 bit? I run 100% mac, but I'm no genius about them yet. I know not all apps are 64 bit, but I thought the OS was. Are you talking about itunes in windows? Cause you know....I'm sure that Apple's primary focus is to get their apps to work in wonderful windows. :eek:
     
  12. bruceha_2000

    bruceha_2000 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    3,054
    301
    19
    Location:
    Northwest VT
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    :rofl:How long does the public have to wait? Every MS operating system has taken WAY longer then they said it would. The long time between XP and Vista was supposed to ensure it was stable and relatively bug free. We still get bimonthly security updates at work for our XP boxes. A Vice president I know at a major computer manufacturer that has "xxx recommends Vista" like promotion said it STINKS. I guess this person isn't following the company line.

    My wife read so much bad press about Vista that we replaced the dying 2001 Compaq (running Windows Me on a WHOPPING 700 mHz processor) with an iMac G5 in November. Yeah, it is a new interface, lots to learn but at least we don't have security updates and bug fixes every other week.
     
  13. apriusfan

    apriusfan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    6,050
    205
    0
    Location:
    S.F. Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    You also don't have to suffer under an O/S that has a voracious appetite for memory. MS is now tied up in a class action lawsuit for making false claims about how under resourced PCs could run Vista....
     
  14. slair

    slair Ubër Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    404
    0
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Its pretty bad when your computer uses all of its resources just to run the baseline OS, let alone even do anything :eek::eek::eek:!!.

    You'll be a lot happier in os X. The learning curve is small, just make sure you keep an open mind about how to do things at first while making the switch.
     
  15. TimBikes

    TimBikes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    2,492
    245
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Overall I'm very happy with XP and don't mind the updates. They happen in background for the most part, with the exception of critical updates that force a restart (which is annoying). But they are infrequent.

    The "xxx recommends Vista" is a tagline that Microsoft pays for. When companies use it in their ads, they get $ to support the ads from MS. The same thing happens with "Intel inside" and similar campaigns.

    As for Macs, I used one years ago and was overall very happy with it, but there are a number of reasons I am not willing to switch:
    - The IT people I interface with say it is no easier to support than Windows XP machines.
    - It takes a lot of effort to re-learn workflow (which is one reason I have not gone to Vista, switched to the latest version of Office, or used "Open Office" extensively).
    - Macs don't support several programs I use regularly -- unless of course I use "Boot Camp", but then what's the point.
    - When I just comparison shopped a similarly equipped MacBook to a WinXP notebook, the MacBook was about 2X the cost.

    That said, for people who are Mac users, you are probably happy and there would be no reason for you to switch to Windows.
     
  16. aaf709

    aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    3,841
    9
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    At Staples I saw a program that makes XP look like Vista.

    It was in the bargain bin.
     
  17. daniel

    daniel Cat Lovers Against the Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    14,487
    1,512
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I had XP on my laptop. I only used the laptop when I traveled. It typically took half a day to download and install all the security updates (including reboots) any time I turned it on to prepare for the next trip.

    Now I have Linux on the laptop. Sometimes there is an update which takes 5 or 10 minutes to install. Linux does everything I need from a travel computer.

    But now I only take the laptop on driving trips. If I'm flying I take the N800. It would probably take 2 days if I had to update an XP machine each time I take a driving trip, which is usually just summer hiking in Canada.
     
  18. TimBikes

    TimBikes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    2,492
    245
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Well it will be interesting to see what happens as I re-install XP on an old machine. It is a pre SP2 machine that I subsequently updated, but with the original OS disk I will have to download a lot of updates. I'm wondering if there is a place on MS's website to capture all of the service pack updates to date since SP1, all in one file/place.
     
  19. NoMoShocks

    NoMoShocks Electrical Engineer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    1,292
    79
    11
    Location:
    Camas, WA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I think most of the updates are security fixes as hackers continue to find new hacks. I wonder if OS "X" doesn't need as many updates because the hackers are reaching for the low hanging abundant fruit with a lot of computer novices using MS PCs?

    As far as Vista being on Sale, I sure hope my wife doesn't hear about it. She will bring home ten copies and tell me she saved me ten times as much.
     
  20. daniel

    daniel Cat Lovers Against the Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    14,487
    1,512
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I once re-installed XP on a computer. I had the original OEM disk, which was SP1. It took two days (or was it three?) to install. The first thing it did, after running the installation disk and taking a long time with that, was to download a lot of patches to SP1, with multiple re-boots along the way. Then it downloaded SP2, with re-boots. And then it downloaded the patches to SP2, with lots of re-boots. It also had to download the latest versions of Norton and the firewall, plus their signature files. Not something I'd willingly do again!

    OS X requires an admin user name and password before software can be installed. If a hacker manages to exploit a flaw and gets a program to run on your computer, it's a one-time event, unless it can guess at an admin name and password, or you provide them. With Windows, the hacker can install a program and get it to run every time you boot, and can hack the registry so that if you uninstall the program it re-installs itself.

    An example was the one a while back that could mess with your IP look-up routine, so that if you typed in a URL, it could take you to a spoofed site. But for that to happen on OS X you'd have had to give an admin name and password. I think they said you'd actually have to give it twice, at different stages of the malicious install, but I'm not sure of that.

    Didn't I hear that with Vista MS has its own anti-virus program built-in, and the third-party AV programs are locked out? And do you have to pay MS a subscription fee for that built-in one to work? Sorry if I got that all wrong. There's no way I'd trust MS for security software. It's like those old Three Stooges movies where someone hires the Stooges to be exterminators or rocket scientists or home remodelers.
     
Loading...