1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Mileage on Touring, does it differ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by SW Prius, Feb 11, 2008.

1. SW Prius

SW Prius New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hello - I am new at this chat room (or any for that matter) so please forgive any goofs I might make!

I have a 2008 Touring with 1100 miles on it. I wound up with the Touring somewhat inadvertently (the dealer was a nightmare). I am just wondering about mileage - I am averaging 42-44 for mixed driving. Much of that was during a cold and rainy spell in California, but I was getting that mileage while my friend with an '05 was getting 49-51 mpg.

So I am wondering how much can be attributed to it being a Touring vs. regular Prius? I am a pretty careful driver and follow many of the tips to get good mileage. I do notice mileage seems to better the first 50-100 miles after I rest the meter so maybe that is what folks are doing to get consistently high mileage??

Thank you
    Elizabeth, Happy Newbie Prius Driver

2. Steamboatsig

Steamboatsig Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I have a touring and I am also averaging 42-44 on mixed driving. My tires are inflated to 42/40. I have been trying really hard to get the mileage up, but maybe my efforts are counter productive to the car's technology.

Btw, which dealer did you get your car at?

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    The Touring model gets slightly lower mileage than the standard Prius. This is due to the Touring tires and wheels. If you switch back to the OEM wheels and use LRR tires, you will get identical mileage to the standard Prius, but it's not enough to worry about.

Tom

4. patrickindallas

patrickindallas Shire rat

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm rolling an '07 Touring.

When the temp is above 50F or so, I get 50mpg in mixed driving.