1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Misc. Problems: Sat Radio, Smart Key entry, Starting noise

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jsgreenfield, Jan 20, 2007.

1. jsgreenfield

jsgreenfield New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I'm a newbie. Apologies in advance if these are known issues. For some reason, the search function always returns an error when I try it.

I've encountered a few issues with my '06 Prius, package 5 since I got it back May. The dealer has been no help. Would like to know if others experience these issues.

1) I have the smart key package. At times, the car does not want to lock when I press the door lock button (on the outside handle). Sometimes I need to press it multiple times. Sometimes I end up opening the door and reclosing, then it works. Seems to happen less as the weather has cooled. Couldn't get it to happen at the dealer, and they were otherwise clueless.

2) Sirius reception seems to be quite weak. I actually have quite a bit of familiarity with RF, so I'm well-aware of the issues that impact closing the link, and Sirius coverage issues -- but I have the impression that my system's performance is worse tha others. I have the front windshield mounted antenna. A colleague of mine, with Sirius in a Dodge minvan (I believe) reports very infrequent dropouts. For example, he says he doesn't drop out going under overpasses unless it is about 4-5 carlengths wide. I experience very regular dropouts. In the summertime, I get dropouts going under highway signs! In fact, I've experienced inexplicable open air dropouts on the highway, on somewhat hazy days. Seems like this antenna/receiver is abnormally weak. I'm still on the free service period that came with my car. It's hard for me to imagine many people would pay for this kind of coverage!