1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Mpg consumption less than specs

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by jc6868, Jan 19, 2011.

1. jc6868

jc6868 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    ,Newbie here.
    Purchased 2010 Prius a few weeks ago and I'm finding Cons Mpg at 31.0,,,considerably less than specs.. Im driving in Miami in the Eco Mode. Is there a break in period with lower than spec Mpg?

2. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    31mpg? That is WAY low!

I suggest you start by checking the tire pressures as even 1 or 2 psi lower than spec will reduce your mpgs. The correct ratings are shown inside the drivers door.

Also, you might want to reset your mpg trip meter as it could be that the engine has been run whilst the car was stationary - such as pre delivery inspection by the dealer.

Give these a try and see how you get on. You should be getting 45 -55 mpg with ease - though it can take a couple thousand miles to get the very best mpg ratings.

3. jc6868

jc6868 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Thanks for this info,,jc

4. newtoprius2010

newtoprius2010 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Also reset your trip meter (by pressing on that trip button after power is on)..check the tire pressure , fill up and then see. My MPG hovers between 45-50 MPG and I do a bunch of short commutes through out the day.

5. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    First of all, welcome to Priuschat! :welcome:
    Secondly, your average might be influenced by several factors including the tire pressure GC mentioned and the existing mileage history still stored by the car, as mentioned by newto.