1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

MPG Drop With New Tires

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Aaron, Dec 11, 2012.

1. Aaron

Aaron Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I did use the search button and found it's normal for some folks, but wanted to check to see if it's normal for MY particular case.

Just finished 50K miles on my Nokian WRG2 (great tires BTW) and wanted to go with something different and cheaper. After advice from forum members I purchased the Bridgestone Ecopia EP422. I've only gone through two gas tanks, but I noticed about a 4-5 mpg drop. The Ecopias are supposed to be MUCH better on MPG or so I've read. What gives? The Nokians and Ecopias are both LRR rated.

2. JMD

JMD 2012 Prius 4 Solar Roof

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I'm not a master mechanic but I would say check the obvious like pressure and I'm guessing you have already. Was the size identical or was that changed? Interested to hear what others say.

3. Aaron

Aaron Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Both identical size 195/55/R16. Running 44/42 PSI.

4. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    It'll be interesting to see how mileage is after 2-3K miles, at the 5 or 10K mile mark AND after the weather gets warmer. I have 2 EP422's and don't recall any mileage drop from them vs. the Integrities they replaced.

I also have two Bridgestone Potenza RE960AS which aren't really LRR.

5. JMD

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I may be off base here but the more expensive tires sometimes do better with mileage, breaking and noise.

6. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring