1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

MPG - Pump versus MFD

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by scottynettles, Jul 27, 2007.

1. scottynettles

scottynettles New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Prius newbie here. Wondering if anyone has statistically compared MPG tank-by-tank as recorded on the MFD Consumption screen versus actual odo miles / gallons pumped. I am only on 3rd tank of gas. First tank was 50.4 MFD versus 48.8 pump; second tank was 52.5 MFD versus 54.5 pump.

I note that the average of the two methods is close, 51.5 versus 51.6...is it possible the difference in the pump milage is a just function of how I top it off?

Thanks for any insight.
    /Scott

2. ZA_Andy

ZA_Andy Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It seems to me that the calculations on the MFD are done in a specific way measuring fuel injected against wheel rotations, and thus should be fairly accurate and at least consistent. Set against this, each fill up has significant capability of resulting in a different 'full' level, making each tank give a variable and unpredictable result. As such, while manual calculation will tend to even out over a number of fill ups, the car is likely to give a reasonably accurate calculation.

3. Tadashi

Tadashi Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I track both, but rely on the hand calculations since no matter what the MFD says if you put so much gas in it and travel so far that is the bottom line MPG. That is unless the pump is inaccurate, which some say.

Off the top of my head, I can have as much as 8 MPG difference between the hand calc and the MFD.

4. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I have 7 years of Prius data recorded!

2001 Prius - 59,827 miles
    ---------------------------------
    tank = 45.4
    computer = 47.5

2004 Prius - 81,217 miles