1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

My 2nd HV battery died one week after warranty ended.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Paul.Ivancie, Apr 19, 2016.

1. Paul.Ivancie

Paul.Ivancie Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Such a tale of woe... But this time I'm going to do the battery repair myself. (I am a retired Electrical Engineer, after all.) My buggy has now racked up 265K miles. The original battery lasted 222K miles, and the repair guy swapped my battery out on a Sunday afternoon for $1500, giving me an 18 month parts and labor warranty. Subsequently, I acquired Techstream and cable, and have been monitoring the cell packs ever since. One module pair (No. 8, almost in the middle of the battery) has always been suspect, and sure enough, one of its members was the culprit for this failure. I only own one car, so I ordered two modules from the internet and tried to time my disassembly to coincide with the parts arrival. When the replacement modules did not arrive on the promised day (actually, only the tracking number was issued on that day), and the items were not given to the Post Office until three days later, I found myself with an opened battery and little to do.
    So, I examined the data a little further. I found:
    1. The serial numbers of modules at positions 1, 2, and 7 were substantially different from the remainder, and seemed, at first glance, to be generally healthier than the others (higher voltage). However, #2 module's output fell more rapidly than all others, about two times faster.
    2. As you approach the center of the battery, the resting voltage of each module seems to degrade slightly, implying that the central modules are being stressed more than those on either end of the stack.