1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

My fan is killing my point score!

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Sambito, Dec 18, 2022.

1. Sambito

Sambito New Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius
    Model:
    Technology AWD-e
    Hello!

Newbie here and I'm looking for some pointers. Just reached 1k kms and we're fairly happy with our prius and we've been consistently hitting high 80s and low 90s in our driving point score until we use the fan. It's dropping our points to the low 70s and 60s. How does the point score for the AC work? We live in Canada and it's super cold out now. Is this unavoidable?

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It’s basically energy use. I mean safety first so if you need to use the defroster, use it.

A few tips include
    • Use Eco Heat/Cool
    • Ensure S-Flow is set to Driver Priority if you’re the only person in the car
    • Lower the temperature and use heated seats to keep you warm.

Louis19 and bisco like this.
  3. Doug McC

Doug McC Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius
    Model:
    XLE
    As Tideland Prius said it is energy used. What that boils down to is this: each and every time a switch is switched on, whether it is a fan, a light, wipers, even placing switches such as the headlights or wipers in Auto, etc. electrical energy is going to be used.
    While most of the time it is an extremely small amount, it adds up and affects your score and mileage. Even setting your interior temperature just a few degrees higher (in winter) is going to use more energy. Once you begin to think along these lines and you minimize the energy use as much as practical and sensibly (ie safely) you will maximize your efficiency and scoring.

Tideland Prius likes this.
  4. Louis19

Louis19 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Upgrade