1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

My new 2005 Prius hybrid battery trouble shooting

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Biopete, Aug 30, 2017.

1. Biopete

Biopete Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi Everyone. I'm new to prius. My friend got one and I loved the way they drive and the possibilities I hope of making it a plugin. So i ventured and bought a used 2005 prius with 255,000 miles on it with the triangle and exclamation point on. It drove great and was cheap enough -- $1250.00. The owner had had a refurbished pack from Falcon put in less than 2 years ago and brakes done last year and threw in the Bentley manual . So now my adventures begin.

My autel maxidas scanner read codes on the Hybrid Battery and Control modules
    P3020 -- battery block 10 becomes weak.
    P3000 -- Battery control system

In order to clear the codes , I had to clear the HV Battery codes first - P3020, and the triangle would go away and it would drive good. Then i could clear the Hybrid Control module codes - P3000 and the exclamation point would go away. So then the car drove great for a while. I get over 40 mpg. 43 - 46 mpg sometimes. But every few hours it would throw the code.

I would monitor the battery blocks . Block 10's voltage was always jumping around with the others either .1 V lower or higher. It was never crazy low though. There were always some lower than it. I noticed the Internal resistance of most blocks is .26 with block 10 being a little higher -- .29 , .33. One time it got to .40.

Anyway, so the car started throwing the codes more frequently -- every 10 minutes sometimes and i drive it with my scanner hooked up and just clear the codes on the fly. Also it seemed to go into limp mode sometimes with the triangle on.