1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

my Prius has left me for another man!

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by betshsu, Mar 16, 2005.

1. betshsu

betshsu Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    No, the agony!

My boyfriend started a new job this week, with a 20 mile commute. As my commute is only 7 miles, we decided it would be more environmentally friendly to swap cars on days he drives to work (he carpools as well). The first day he took my car and I drove his VW station wagon, I pressed the button on the hatch and thought--what the heck? why isn't it opening? oh right... no SKS. Much fumbling with keys to lock and unlock the car for the rest of the day ensued. The other major problem I have is that I can't always accelerate smoothly from a dead stop in his car, because the gas is less responsive. I feel like I'm just learning to drive with all the jerking and squealing. And the steering wheel is much tighter, which could be tiring on a long drive.

Here's the unfortunately reality...he commented the other day that the more and more he drives the Prius, the more he likes it. Not too terribly surprising, as he was originally trying to buy a Prius in the fall of 2003, but couldn't wait 3 months for one as his car had been totaled by the insurance company. And he pointed out the fact that the mpg on this last tank was better than usual (the length of his commute compared to mine helps him out tremendously).

*sigh* I may never get my car back. :cry:

2. Sufferin' Prius Envy

Sufferin' Prius Envy Platinum Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Two words:

Joint Custody.

Make a deal that you get exclusive custody of the baby at night and on weekends.

3. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I think the solution is clear...you need a job farther away from home than his!

4. Rumply

Rumply New Member