1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

My Prius is awesome in the snow!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by HanSolo, Feb 6, 2011.

1. HanSolo

HanSolo Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Had to drive 75 miles this morning to a volleyball tournament. Opened The garage door to see 3 to 4 inches of new snow. On the drive north only one lane had been plowed, and only one time. most cars were doing 45 mph. Because of the Prius' awesome weight distribution and Blizzack tires I was able to pass slower traffic by using the unplowed lane and I was able to maintain between 60 and 75 mph. No complaints about this vehicle in the snow. I love passing Suburus and trucks as we plow forward.

I grew up driving in snow and slush and crap on interstates and back roads so I have some confidence and experience. The main advantage I believe is the tire choice. I'm sure the weight distribution is a large factor also.

The mileage took a huge hit. 33.5 mpg at 65 mph average outside air temperature 23 degrees F.

2. mainerinexile

mainerinexile No longer in exile!

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I agree completely. The Prius does just fine if the tires are good and the driver knows how to drive in snow. Those who insist on spinning their summer tires on snow will be sorely disappointed in any car. Also agree on the mpg hit, although I'll point out what when I blocked my grill, my winter mileage went up about 10 mpg. I had my first 50 mpg tank last week after grill blocking, and this was at 20 degrees F.

3. HanSolo

HanSolo Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    On dry roads in 20 to 25 outside air temp and 75 mph I've been getting 38 or so indicated mpg. I think plowing through snow and slush cost me 5 mpg. Hopefully the roads will be plowed for the drive home. Only 7 more hours of volleyball. :(

4. Yodeler

Yodeler New Member