1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

My Prius, The Fair Weather Car, ECO Mode or Normal ?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by GeoDesign, Jan 16, 2010.

1. GeoDesign

GeoDesign Who, Where, What, Why ?

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello prius chat,

My first prius, Sandy Beach, Solar Roof and Nav. Purchased 9/4/09. I will openly admitt that for years I was on the fence about Hybrid cars. I'm a systems designer for an alternative energy company and when my company decided to give incentives to its employees to purchase hybrid vehicles I took the leap to other side. It took awhile to grow on me but now I love the car. I love it to the point that I was guns a blazing defending it in the brake issue thread.

When I first purchased the car, the weather here in NC was still warm. My average MPG was in the mid 50's and the car was solid and squeak free.

Then the cold snap. I started noticing squeaks coming from the console and dash on those cold mornings. My mileage dropped to the mid to upper 40's. I'm not really complaining about this because I squeak and moan in very cold weather and complaining about gas mileage in the mid to upper 40's is kinda like complaining that your beer is to cold.

The last couple of days it has warmed up to 50's and yesterday to the 60's. The squeaks are gone and my mileage is back up. Yesterday after about a 130 mile trip I note the highest mileage to date according to the dash monitor. 62.8. I wasn't driving any diffirently then normal, or so I thought, however the car felt more responsive. Then 2/3rds into the trip I realize the green light that says ECO mode was not on. Wanting the best mileage I have driven the car in ECO mode from day 1. Must have hit the button with out realizing it.